22 Things I Did Before I Got Married at 22… And What I Plan To Do After

Standard

I am one of the hundreds (thousands?) of people on the Internet who shared the blog post “23 Things To Do Instead Of Getting Engaged Before You’re 23.” [See my previous re-blog.] Because I like her list. Because I relate to her list. And then a friend sent me this blog, and I immediately felt the need to share it as well! Not because it changes my liking of the other article… nor does it negate the viewpoint of the other… but because this article also resounds with me. And the author has a fantastic point: Everyone has their own list to strive for and take pride in, and it’s not anyone’s place to judge what is or isn’t on that list. Different people want different things out of life. That’s the beauty of life. Embrace it! Write your own list! (And also remember that 23 is SO young! You have so much of your life ahead of you. Live it to its fullest right up until your last breath.)

More Than One Page

Image

There’s a post making its rounds on Facebook that is grating me the wrong way: “23 Things To Do Instead of Getting Engaged Before You’re 23.”

I want to preface this post by saying that yes, I did get engaged before 23. I was 19 when he officially popped the question with a ring and everything–but I was sixteen when we decided that was what was right for us. I was 22 when we got married, and it’s been over a year since then.

I’m 23 now. Have I done everything on that author’s list? No. Not because I didn’t have time or am now incapable of such things now that I’m married–it’s because I have no desire to complete most of them, because that list isn’t me. It also isn’t, I don’t think, a list for many of the people reposting it on my Facebook newsfeed, nor even a…

View original post 909 more words

Leave a Reply

